Sunday, 05 December 2021 | 12:17 WIB

Fernando Santos Announces Portugal Squad for Euro 2020

Fernando Santos Announces Portugal Squad for Euro 2020 (bbc)

JAKARTA, NETRALNEWS.COM - Cristiano Ronaldo will lead the star-filled Portugal squad to defend their European Cup (Euro) title after coach Fernando Santos on Friday announced the list of players to be brought into the competition.

Ronaldo, who recently won the Italian Cup this week and has scored more than 100 goals for Juventus, will be joined by star players such as Manchester City's Bernardo Silva and Manchester United's Bruno Fernandes.

Atletico Madrid player Joao Felix, who has a big chance of winning the Spanish League this week, and Liverpool striker Diogo Jota complete the Portugal front line for the tournament which starts on June 12.

Portugal will also include Andre Silva, who has scored more goals in a Bundesliga season than any other Eintracht Frankfurt player.

Portugal's defensive list is just as impressive as their midfield and forward.

Manchester City's Ruben Dias and team-mate Joao Cancelo have impressed this season in the Premier League and Champions League.

Portugal are included in Group F along with world champions France, Germany and Hungary. They will play their final warm-up matches against Spain on June 5 and Israel on June 10.

Below is the complete list of the Portugal squad for Euro 2020:

Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Olympique Lyon), Rui Patricio (Wolves), Rui Silva (Granada)

Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City), Nelson Semedo (Wolves), Jose Fonte (Lille), Pepe (Porto), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Nuno Mendes (Sporting), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfilders: Danilo Pereira (Paris St Germain), Joao Palhinha (Sporting), Ruben Neves (Wolves), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Joao Moutinho (Wolves), Renato Sanches (Lille), Sergio Oliveira (Porto), William Carvalho ( Real Betis)

Forwards: Pedro Goncalves (Sporting), Andre Silva (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Liverpool), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia), Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid), Rafa Silva ( Benfica).